Latest News

Local 194 President Fran Ehret Steps Down

November 13, 2013

President Franceline Ehret will finish out her career with Local 194 at the end of November. She worked as a Toll Collector for the New Jersey Turnpike Authority for 26 years. Fran served as a Shop Steward and a Chapter Officer before being appointed and then elected the Local's first woman Secretary-Treasurer. In 2000, with the retirement of then President Mike Frommer, Fran decided to run for President. She and the majority of her "Team" won and took office in January 2001. She served unchallenged almost 13-years until her resignation Friday November 8th.

As President, Fran led the union through four very successful contract negotiations on behalf both full-time and part-time members resulting in wages increases, lifetime benefits for retirees, full-time job opportunities for temporary janitors and part-time toll collectors among other things.

A strong believer in political action to build power, Fran led Local 194 to have a reputation as one of the most active unions in NJ, with some of the highest turn-outs of volunteers for Labor GOTV efforts each year. Fran served as a Vice-President on the Executive Board representing IFPTE for the last 12 years. Over her career she received the Shirley Chisholm Award from Assembly Speaker Sheila Oliver and Labor Leader of the Year awards from the Middlesex-Somerset Central Labor Council, the Essex-West Hudson Central Labor Council, the Bergen Central Labor Council, the Industrial Union Council, and the Women's Affirmative Action Committee of New Jersey. She received recognitions for her Community Activism from NJ Citizen Action and the Giblin Association. Recognizing her work on behalf of Labor and the Community, she received an award from Pam's List Political Action Committee, a US Senate Proclamation from Senator Robert Menendez, a Certificate of Congressional Recognition from Congressman Frank Pallone, and several Joint Legislative Resolutions from the NJ Senate and Assembly, as well as Resolutions from the Middlesex County and Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders.